Share this

Digital Technology Endorsed Officially

The Australian Curriculum: endorsed and improved

On Sept 18, 2015 the Education Council endorsed Australian Curriculum in eight learning areas.

The Australian Curriculum that was endorsed includes:

  • The revised Foundation – Year 10 Australian Curriculum: English, Mathematics, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences, The Arts, Technologies and Health and Physical Education.
  • Foundation – Year 10 Australian Curriculum: Languages for Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Modern Greek, Spanish and Vietnamese.
  • Australian Curriculum: Work Studies, Years 9–10 (an optional subject designed to ready young people for work)

Revisions to previously available Australian Curriculum have been made to make the curriculum, easier to manage, particularly for primary schools, simplify the curriculum’s presentation, and strengthen the focus on literacy.

For Australian Curriculum: Technologies (Digital Technologies)

The volume of content in learning areas has been reduced by deleting and clarifying content descriptions. We have introduced optional, single learning area achievement standards for Technologies. The existing subject specific achievement standards will also be available as an alternative.

Specific changes:

Changes to Digital Technologies Scope and Sequence

  • Change to thread ‘Digital systems’ (F-8)
  • Change to thread ‘Representation of Data’ (5-6)
  • Change to thread ‘collecting, managing and analysing data’ (5-6)
  • Change to thread ‘creating digital solutions by investigating and defining’ (5-6; 9-10)
  • Change to thread ‘generating and defining’ (5-6; 9-10)
  • Change to thread ‘evaluating’ (3-10)
  • Change to thread ‘collaborating and managing’ (F-10)

One can also read the official media release from the Minister of Education, Christopher Pyne, at The Australian Curriculum can be viewed at

ACCE Partners
ACCE Partners
ACCE Partners
ACCE Partners